11 Things You May Not Know About Me

Ed Newman
2 min readJan 14, 2019

For What It’s Worth Dept. — Formative Experiences

Light painting by the author.

When I was three I had a tricycle accident and fell face first onto the ground, with a dowel in my mouth. I had a hole in the roof of my mouth for at least half a year, which slowly healed and is now but a scar. (One of many.)

I went parachute jumping three times when I was in college. It was a rush. The guys who persuaded me said, “You’ll be able to tell about this for the rest of your life.” They were right!

I had my first art classes when I was five, the summer before kindergarten.

When I was 8, my parents permitted me to be taken out of school for a cross-country journey to Nevada with my grandparents, three days each way and two weeks with my cousins out West.

I jumped out of a moving car (a convertible) on the way home from a Little League game. I thought it would impress the girl across the street. It did not.

In college I had hair nearly to my waist at one point. Yes, I was a hippie.

I was an extra in the movie Iron Will. Kevin Spacey was a few feet away in the start of the race scene. It was 20-below and they re-shot the scene seven times. Our hearts went out to those ruddy-cheeked kilted Scottish bagpipers.

--

--

Ed Newman

An avid reader who writes about arts, culture, literature & other life obsessions. @ennyman3 Look for my books on Amazon https://tinyurl.com/y3l9sfpj